Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD

International AICA

The International Association of Art Critics (AICA) was founded in 1948/1949 and was recognized as a »non-government organization« (NGO) by the UNESCO in 1951. In the meantime there are national sections with more than 4000 members in 64 countries and an open section.

The Professed Goals of AICA:

  • to promote the critical disciplines in the field of visual arts,
  • to ensure their having sound methodological and ethical bases,
  • to protect the ethical and professionnal interests of art critics by defending the rights of all members equally,
  • to ensure permanent communication among its members by encouraging international meetings,
  • to facilitate and improve informations and international exchanges in the field of visual arts,
  • to contribute to the reciproca knowledge and closer understanding of differing cultures,
  • to provide collaboration with developing countries.

(from the website of the International AICA)


32, rue Yves Toudic
75010 Paris

Phone.: 33 (0)1 47 70 17 42
Fax: 33 (0)1 47 70 17 81
mobile: 33 (0) 6 11 16 60 91


(English, French, Spanish)

Executive Board of the International AICA

President: Marek Bartelik

General Secretary: Brane Kovic

General Treasurer: Evi Strousa

International Vice-Presidents:

Carlos Acero Ruiz – Dominican Rep. (2011-2014)
 Adriana Almada – Paraguay (2010-2013)
 Juraj Carny – Slovakia (2012-2015)
 Raphaël Cuir – France (2012-2015)
 Burcu Pelvanoglu – Turkey (2010-2013)
 Lisbeth Rebollo – Brazil (2010-2013)
 Myrna Rodriguez – Puerto Rico (2011-2014)
 Malene Vest Hansen – Denmark (2012-2015)
 Jin Sup Yoon – South Korea (2011-2014)


Honorary Presidents:
José Augusto Franca (Portugal), Dan Haulica (Rumania), Henry Meyric-Hughes (UK), Wladyslawa Jaworska (Poland), Yacouba Konaté (Ivory Coast), Jacques Leenhardt (France), Kim Levin (United States), Bélgica Rodríguez (Venezuela)

Elected Members of the Board 2011/2012:                    

Liam Kelly – Ireland
 Klara Kemp Welch – UK
 Marja-Terttu Kivirinta – Finland
 Jesus-Pedro Lorente – Spain
 Albán Martínez Gueyraud – Paraguay
 Edward Rubin – USA
 Patrick Schaefer – Switzerland
 Ludwig Seyfarth – Germany
 Rachel Sukman – Israel
 Marie-Luise Syring – Germany



Congresses of the International AICA

©  German section of AICA.  Impressum  /  Emails

Concept of the website: uinic - art and web projects, Binder / Haupt