Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Georg Jappe, In Memoriam/ by Horst Richter

Georg Jappe, In Memoriam / by Horst Richter

                                Sea of my clearest verses
                                Today after years
                                Not a single thought.
                                     G. Jappe, Haiku Book, 1981


The numerous obituaries by friends and colleagues have confirmed it. Georg Jappe, who died 16 March 2007, was a multi-talented companion of modernity, a successful critic and artist at the same time. Born in 1936 in Cologne and having earned a PhD in 1961 after studies in Frankfurt/Main, Paris and Vienna, he set out on two career paths with near boundless dedication: the first as an author in the pseudo-natural sciences, in which he used ornithology to make his "visual and acoustic poetry" into an impressive series of bibliophilic publications; the other as a free-lance literary and art critic, which brought him international renown.

Initially working as a freelance editor of radio dramas at the Westdeutschen Rundfunk in Cologne, he began writing for the "Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger" in 1964. From 1966 to 1975, he wrote for the features section of the "Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung," then for "Die Zeit" and various other periodicals. In 1976, after teaching positions in art and literature at the university in Essen, he went to the College for Fine Arts in Hamburg. There, as aesthetics professor for a quarter century, he imparted his view of the world, especially of the overlapping of art history and ethno-graphy, to students and junior colleagues. In 1976 he also parti-cipated in establishing the International Artists Forum (IKG) in Cologne.

In 1969, Jappe became a member of the German section of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA). Soon thereafter he became a member of its board of directors (until 1992), as well as twice serving as vice-president of the international AICA (1980-83 and 1985-88). On both boards he was committed not only to the appropriate presentation of art in public, particularly modern art, but also to its societal function outside the cultural arena. Jappe: "AICA was a precursor of the East-West détente. What interested me about it was the opportunity to introduce an artistic/political instrument." In doing so, he aimed not least to procure international appreciation for the German art scene. Throughout the years of his responsibilities in these posts, he made lasting efforts to advance the dialog between different ideological and theoretical blocs at the international level.

As representative of the German section, he participated in AICA congresses in Oslo, Amsterdam, Paris, Dresden, Brussels, Helsinki, Berlin, Warsaw, Dublin and Moscow with his own work, something which repeatedly brought him much attention. At the 1977 international AICA congress in Cologne, he lectured on "Methoden der Kunstkritik - wo sind sie?" ("Methods of Art Criticism - Where are They?"), based on nearly 700 press texts about documenta 6. His conclusion: "If I had known what kind of depressing and appalling reading I was getting myself into, I'd have come up with a more constructive topic." He wasn't one to mince words.

Jappe died in Kleve, the hometown of Joseph Beuys, with whom he shared a progressive dedication to art.

COLOGNE, March 2007

 

Cologne, March 2007
Horst Richter


©  German section of AICA.  Impressum  /  Emails

Concept of the website: uinic - art and web projects, Binder / Haupt

Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Georg Jappe zum Gedenken


Georg Jappe zum Gedenken / Von Horst Richter

                                         See meiner klarsten Verse
                                         Heute nach Jahren
                                         Nicht ein Gedanke.
                                               G. Jappe, Haikubuch, 1981

Die zahlreichen Nachrufe von Freunden und Kollegen haben es bestätigt. Georg Jappe, der am 16. März 2007 gestorben ist, war ein vielseitig begabter Wegbegleiter der Moderne, ein erfolgreicher Kritiker und Künstler zugleich. 1936 in Köln geboren, 1961 nach Studium in Frankfurt/Main, Paris und Wien promoviert, hat er mit kaum begrenztem Engagement zwei Berufswege beschritten. Den einen als Schriftsteller im quasi naturkundlichen Bereich, in dem er seine „optische und akustische Poesie" auf ornithologischen Spuren zu einer stattlichen Reihe bibliophil geprägter Publikationen führte, und den anderen als freier Literatur- und Kunstkritiker, der ihm zu internationalem Ansehen verhalf.

Zunächst tätig als externer Hörspiellektor für den Westdeutschen Rundfunk in Köln, schrieb er von 1964 an für den „Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger", zwei Jahre später bis 1975 für das Feuilleton der „Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung", danach für „Die Zeit" und verschiedene andere Periodika. Nach Lehraufträgen für Kunst und Literatur an der Gesamthochschule Essen ging er 1976 an die Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg, wo er ein Vierteljahrhundert lang als Professor für Ästhetik den Studenten wie den jüngeren Kollegen seine Sicht auf die Welt, speziell auch auf die Überschneidungen von Kunstgeschichte und Ethnographie vermittelte. Ebenfalls 1976 hatte er sich in Köln an der Gründung des Internationalen Künstlergremiums (IKG) beteiligt.

Mitglied der bundesdeutschen Sektion des Internationalen Kunstkritikerverbandes (AICA) wurde Jappe 1969. Schon bald gehörte er deren Vorstand an (bis 1992) und war zudem auch zweimal Vizepräsident der internationalen AICA (1980-83 und 1985-88). In beiden Gremien engagierte er sich nicht nur für eine angemessene Präsentation der Kunst in der Öffentlichkeit, vor allem der modernen Kunst, sondern auch für deren gesellschaftliche Funktion über den kulturellen Bereich hinaus. Jappe: „Die AICA war ein Vorreiter der Ost-West-Entspannung. Was mich an ihr interessierte, war die Möglichkeit, ein kunstpolitisches Instrument einzusetzen". Dabei ging es ihm nicht zuletzt darum, der Kunstszene des eigenen Landes internationale Anerkennung zu verschaffen. In den Jahren seiner entsprechenden Zuständigkeit bemühte er sich nachhaltig, den Dialog zwischen den verschiedenen ideologischen und theoretischen Blöcken auf internationaler Ebene voranzubringen.

Als Vertreter der deutschen Sektion nahm er mit eigenen Beiträgen an AICA-Kongressen in Oslo, Amsterdam, Paris, Dresden, Brüssel, Helsinki, Berlin, Warschau, Dublin und Moskau teil, was ihm immer wieder nachhaltige Aufmerksamkeit eintrug. Auf dem internationalen AICA-Kongress 1977 in Köln referierte er über „Methoden der Kunstkritik - wo sind sie?" anhand von fast 700 Medientexten über die documenta 6. Sein Fazit: „Hätte ich geahnt, in welch deprimierende und erschreckende Lektüre ich mich da begebe, ich hätte mir ein konstruktiveres Thema einfallen lassen". Schönschweigen war seine Sache nicht.

Gestorben ist Jappe nun im niederrheinischen Kleve, dem Heimatort von Joseph Beuys, mit dem ihn ein progressives Kunstengagement verbunden hatte.

KÖLN, im März 2007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Köln, im März 2007
Horst Richter


©  AICA-Sektion der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.  Impressum  /  Emails

Konzept der Website: uinic - Kunst- und Webprojekte, Binder / Haupt