Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Revisiting Heinz Ohff

When he went into "retirement" in 1987 - he later lived and continued to write mostly in St. Ives in Cornwall - Berlin lost a first-rate art critic. Berlin lost the "Friedrich Lufft of the visual arts."

For 26 years at the Berlin newspaper "Tagesspiegel," Ohff observed the artistic life of the city, knowledgeably, dedicatedly and pointedly accompanying it. He was one of the first feature editors in Germany who wasn't a theater or literature critic, but rather an art critic. He belonged to AICA, but also to the PEN-Club and the Association of German Art Critics, of which he was chairman for many years.

Berlin's Polledition has now released "The Heinz Ohff Reader," enabling a revisiting of many of his reviews, as well as his features and literary texts (editors Ekhard Haack and Lothar C. Poll; distribution: order@infopress-berlin.de). His straightforward texts can still serve us critics as a standard, and continue to be an important tutorial for doubters of modern art practices. He always phrased things unambiguously - whether positive or negative. His judgment of Baselitz in 1963 was crystal clear: "Who, for heaven's sake, is to be provoked by these mediocre paintings?" In 1966, he wrote about Gerhard Richter: "Incidentally, he is one of the most gifted young painters in Germany." Regarding the work of Thuringian artist Altenbourg, Ohff asks in 1964: "Does one [in Thuringia] know how much artists like Altenbourg will be needed someday, if one in eastern Germany wants to regain a connection to art, not perforce that of the West but rather of the Eastern Bloc?"

Heinz Ohff was one of the "pure" critics who didn't work concurrently as curators, as is common practice today. He considered the counterpart to be a true counterpart, along the lines of: you do your thing, I'll do mine. In 1987, at the end of his career as critic, he did in fact curate an exhibition in the Staatlichen Kunsthalle Berlin, bringing to it his "extremely personal quintessence" (Ohff). He wordily excused himself in the "Tagesspiegel," only to come to the conclusion: "What can happen to me? The worst case is that I don't like my own exhibition, and would just as soon tear it to pieces. This would be taken care of for me by one colleague or another, and certainly all-too gladly".

Heinz Ohff died in Berlin in 2006 at the age of 83. Speaking at the funeral, Ekhard Haack said this about the work of the Eutin-born critic: "Against his will, he became ‘Berlin's high-priest of art.' Not because he elevated opinions to dogma, but rather because the artists trusted him. To the artists, articles by Ohff were like a christening through criticism."

 

 

Cologne, August 2007
Walter Vitt


©  German section of AICA.  Impressum  /  Emails

Concept of the website: uinic - art and web projects, Binder / Haupt

Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Wiederbegegnung mit Heinz Ohff

Als er sich 1987 in den „Ruhestand" zurückzog - er lebte und schrieb danach zumeist in St. Ives in Cornwall -, verlor Berlin einen Kunstkritiker von hohem Rang, verlor Berlin den „Friedrich Lufft der Bildenden Kunst".

26 Jahre lang hatte Ohff im Berliner „Tagesspiegel" das Kunstleben der Stadt beobachtet und kenntnisreich, engagiert und pointiert begleitet. Er war einer der ersten Feuilletonchefs in Deutschland, der nicht Theater- oder Literaturkritiker, sondern Kunstkritiker war. Er gehörte zur AICA, aber auch dem PEN-Club und dem Verband der deutschen Kritiker an, dessen Vorsitzender er viele Jahre gewesen ist.

Jetzt ermöglicht ein in Berlin in den Polleditionen erschienenes „Lesebuch Heinz Ohff" die Wiederbegegnung mit vielen seiner Kritiken, aber auch mit seinen Feuilletons und literarischen Texten (Hg. Ekhard Haack und Lothar C. Poll; Vertrieb: order@infopress-berlin.de). Seine schnörkellosen Texte können uns Kritikern immer noch als Maßstab dienen und manchem Zweifler an moderner Kunstpraxis unverändert eine wichtige Verständnishilfe sein. Er formulierte stets eindeutig - ob positiv oder negativ. Über Baselitz urteilte der 1963 klipp und klar: „Wen, um Himmels willen, will man mit diesen mittelmäßigen Malereien provozieren?" Über Gerhard Richter schrieb er 1966: „Im übrigen ist er einer der begabtesten jungen Maler in Deutschland". Zum Werk des Thüringers Altenbourg heißt es 1964 bei Ohff: „Ob man [in Thüringen] weiß, wie nötig man eines Tages Künstler wie Altenbourg haben wird, wenn man auch im Osten Deutschlands wieder Anschluss gewinnen will an die Kunst nicht notgedrungen des Westens, sondern des Ostblocks?"

Heinz Ohff gehörte noch zu den „lupenreinen" Kritikern, zu denen, die nicht - wie heute durchaus üblich - zugleich als Kuratoren wirken, er betrachtete das Gegenüber als tatsächliches Gegenüber - nach dem Motto: Mach Du Deine Sache, ich mache meine. Als er zum Abschluss seiner Kritikerkarriere dann in der Staatlichen Kunsthalle Berlin 1987 doch eine Ausstellung kuratierte und seine „höchst persönliche Quintessenz" (Ohff) zog, entschuldigte er sich wortreich im „Tagesspiegel", um dann zu den Sätzen zu finden: „Was kann mir passieren? Das Schlimmste wäre, dass ich meine eigene Ausstellung nicht gut finde und sie am liebsten kräftig verreißen möchte. Das wird dann der eine oder andere Kollege von mir besorgen, und sicher nur allzu gerne".

Heinz Ohff starb 2006 in Berlin, 83jährig. Auf der Trauerfeier sagte Ekhard Haack über die Arbeit des gebürtigen Eutiners u.a.: „Er wurde wider Willen zum ‚Kunstpapst Berlins', - nicht, weil er Meinungen zum Dogma erhob, sondern weil die Künstler ihm vertrauten. Artikel von Ohff erschienen den Künstlern als Taufe durch Kritik".


 

Köln, im August 2007
Walter Vitt


©  AICA-Sektion der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.  Impressum  /  Emails

Konzept der Website: uinic - Kunst- und Webprojekte, Binder / Haupt