Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



2012 Museum of the Year: Städel Frankfurt/Main

The Städel Museum in Frankfurt on Main is the Museum of the Year of 2012. Tending an almost 200-year legacy as the foundation of banker Johann Friedrich Städel, who died in 1816, and to this day sustained to a vital degree by civic commitment, the museum’s opening of the extension building is a striking affirmation of its place amongst the leading museums of Germany. The history of the construction of the extension, with its exhibition area of 3000 square metres, is memorable in its own right. No less than fifty per cent of the finances for this came from private donations, which, considering the total cost of thirty-four million euros, plus some eighteen million euros for the renovation of the architecture in which the permanent collection is housed, reflects not only the financial strength of patronage in Frankfurt, but also the feat attained by the Museum in stirring a willingness for support, and to focus it upon the tangible goal of a new building for the Museum.

 

With the underground extension under the gardens of the historical museum building, the integrity of this architectural monument has been successfully preserved at the same time as an outstanding solution found both architecturally and as regards the operation of the museum. Commissioning the Frankfurt-based architects’ office of Schneider + Schumacher, conspicuous  since their beginnings with innovative designs for exhibition buildings like the legendary, red Info-Box in Berlin, brought about a happy solution for the spatial needs of the Museum. The Städel’s vigorous expanding of its collections into contemporary art, which went hand in hand with the planning and realisation of the museum extension, thus avoided any displacement of the highly significant historical holdings. That two of the major Frankfurt-based banks have put large contingents from their corporate collections at the Museum’s disposal as permanent loans, underscores how integrated in its home city the institution of the Städel continues to be.

 

2012 also saw the Städel able to continue an ambitious exhibition programme of undiminished high calibre. One might recall the exhibitions on Claude Lorrain, the drawings of Raphael and Schwarze Romantik. Von Goya bis Max Ernst/Dark Romanticism From Goya to Max Ernst as fine examples. From Frankfurt and beyond, visitors rewarded these efforts with a new attendance record including just under half a million counted at the Städel alone. In this, the transfer effect of close organisational links with the Schirn Kunstalle and the Liebighaus as a sculpture museum is an increasingly tangible contributor, furthering reciprocal perception of what each of these wittingly complementary exhibition programmes have to offer. Together, the three establishments recorded visitor figures surpassing the one million mark for the first time.

 

For Max Hollein, the director of the three houses, 2012 was the confirmation of his reputation as an outstanding museum manager – and the year in which the anxiety of sceptics was dispelled that the organisation of the new extension and the acquisition of gifts and endowments could detract from the Museum’s core operation. On the contrary, the sense of new departures appears to be an inspiration for everyone in the team. A balance can be seen to be maintained between crowd-pulling exhibitions and those that inform about new insights in art-historical research – the more so thanks to an abundant programme of events that relate to the Collection and the exhibitions and which take advantage of all the means and media of museum education available today. The Städel is setting out into an assured future.

 

Berlin, 25.01.2013
Bernhard Schulz


©  German section of AICA.  Impressum  /  Emails

Concept of the website: uinic - art and web projects, Binder / Haupt

Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Museum des Jahres 2012

Das Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main ist das Museum des Jahres 2012. Mit der Eröffnung seines Erweiterungsbauwerks hat sich das Städel, das eine knapp 200-jährige Tradition dieser als Stiftung des 1816 verstorbenen Bankiers Johann Friedrich Städel entstandenen und seither von bürgerschaftlichem Engagement auch heute noch maßgeblich getragenen Einrichtung pflegt, seinen Platz unter den führenden deutschen Museen eindrucksvoll bestätigt. Eindrucksvoll ist auch die Entstehungsgeschichte der Erweiterung mit ihren 3000 Quadratmetern Ausstellungsfläche. Sie wurde zu nicht weniger als 50 Prozent aus privaten Spendengeldern finanziert, was angesichts eines Kostenvolumens von 34 Millionen Euro – sowie weiteren 18 Millionen Euro für die Renovierung des Bestandsgebäudes - nicht allein auf die Finanzkraft Frankfurter Mäzene verweist, sondern ebenso auf die Fähigkeit des Museums, Spendenbereitschaft zu wecken und auf das anschauliche Ziel eines Museumsneubaus zu richten.

Mit dem unterirdischen Erweiterungsbau im Gartenbereich des historischen Museumsgebäudes ist es gelungen, die Integrität dieses Baudenkmals zu bewahren und zugleich eine architektonisch wie museumstechnisch herausragende Lösung zu finden. Die Beauftragung des ortsansässigen Architekturbüros Schneider + Schumacher, das bereits in seiner Anfangszeit mit innovativen Entwürfen für Ausstellungsbauten hervortrat – wie der legendären, roten „Info-Box“ in Berlin, hat zu einer glücklichen Lösung für die Platzerfordernisse des Museums geführt. Die energische Erweiterung der Sammlung des Städel in die zeitgenössische Kunst hinein, die mit der Planung und Realisierung des Erweiterungsbaus einherging, hat so zu keiner Verdrängung der hochbedeutenden historischen Bestände führen müssen. Dass zwei in Frankfurt ansässige Großbanken große Teile ihrer Firmensammlungen als Dauerleihgaben zur Verfügung stellen, unterstreicht die Verankerung der Institution Städel in ihrer Heimatstadt.

Zugleich hat das Städel im Jahr 2012 sein ambitioniertes Ausstellungsprogramm auf unverändert hohem Niveau fortführen können. Erinnert sei an die Ausstellungen zu Claude Lorrain, zu den Zeichnungen Raffaels und zur „Schwarzen Romantik. Von Goya bis Max Ernst“. Das Frankfurter und auswärtige Publikum hat diese Anstrengungen mit einem neuen Besucherrekord honoriert: knapp eine halbe Million Besucher wurden allein im Städel gezählt. Immer stärker machen sich dabei die Transfereffekte des engen organisatorischen Verbunds mit der Schirn Kunsthalle und dem Liebighaus als Skulpturenmuseum bemerkbar, die zur wechselseitigen Wahrnehmung der jeweiligen, aufeinander abgestimmten Angebote führen. Zusammengenommen wurde bei den drei Institutionen erstmals die Marke von einer Million Besuchern übertroffen.

Der Direktor aller drei Einrichtungen, Max Hollein, hat mit dem Jahr 2012 zum einen seinen Ruf als hervorragender Museumsmanager bestätigt als auch diejenigen Skeptiker widerlegt, die gegenüber der Organisation des Neubaus und der Akquise von Stiftungen und Schenkungen eine Vernachlässigung des eigentlichen Museumsbetriebs befürchteten. Im Gegenteil zeigt sich das ganze Team von der Aufbruchsstimmung beflügelt. Die Balance zwischen publikumsträchtigen Ausstellungen und solchen, die neue kunsthistorische Forschungsstände vermitteln, wird erkennbar gehalten, zumal ein reiches Veranstaltungsprogramm rund um Sammlung und Ausstellungen alle heute möglichen Vermittlungsformen des Museums umfasst. Das Städel geht mit einer gesicherten Perspektive in die Zukunft.

 

 

Berlin, 25.01.2013
Bernhard Schulz


©  AICA-Sektion der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.  Impressum  /  Emails

Konzept der Website: uinic - Kunst- und Webprojekte, Binder / Haupt