Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



From the AICA Convention in Taipei

80 AICA members from 26 countries participated in the XXXVIII Convention of the International AICA, held in Taipei from 30 November to 6 December 2004 and organized by the Taiwanese AICA section. German art criticism was represented by AICA general secretary Marie Luise Syring (Dusseldorf) as well as Evelyn Weiss (Bonn) and Noemi Smolik (Bonn), among others.

In his statement of accounts, AICA president Henry Meyric Hughes (London) emphasized AICA’s obligation to stand by persecuted colleagues around the world, recent areas of concern including the Ivory Coast, Hong Kong and Haiti. The president showed relief that the discussion about the new statutes has finally been concluded. Meyric Hughes also addressed the German AICA paperback series “Schriften zur Kunstkritik” (“Writings on Art Criticism”), currently comprising 14 volumes, and expressed regret that there are no funds to “translate such works into other languages” and to publish them.

Treasurer Angelica Bäumer (Vienna) notified members that due to the weak dollar, AICA will no longer use US currency as the method of payment for national sections, and will only accept dues paid in euro. The general assembly unanimously decided to raise the 2005 fees due to Paris to 30 euro per year for wealthier countries and 20 euro for developing countries. National sections which have not paid dues for two years are to be temporarily excluded from AICA. Their members may pay dues to Paris individually, and will then be apportioned to the “free section.”

The convention’s theme, “The Regionalisation of Art Criticism: Its Possibility and Global Positioning” was treated in two symposia. Symposium I was held 2 – 4 December in Taipei, symposium II from 7 – 9 December in Kaohsiung.

A pre-convention on 30 November and 1 December presented the opportunity to visit the exhibition “Taiwan Avant-Garde Documenta II,” the National Palace Museum, the Yingge Ceramics Museum and the Juming Museum. On one of the following evenings, the highlight was a visit to the Taipei Biennial.

A trip from the north into southern Taiwan was offered post-convention from 6 – 9 December, with tours of the City Craft Museum and the Railway Warehouse in Hsinchu, the alternative exhibition spaces in Stock 20 in Taichung, the National University of Arts and the Nan-Ying Tsung-Yeh Cultural Center in Tainan, and the Museum of Fine Arts in Kaohsiung.

The XXXIX AICA convention, entitled “Art Criticism and Art Theory,” will be held from 19 - 25 September 2005 in Ljubljana (Slovenia). The AICA headquarters in Paris has moved, and can now be reached at the following address: 32 rue Yves Toudic, 75010 Paris.

Bonn/Dusseldorf/Cologne, January 2005
MARIE LUISE, SYRING EVELYN WEISS


©  German section of AICA.  Impressum  /  Emails

Concept of the website: uinic - art and web projects, Binder / Haupt

Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Vom AICA-Kongress in Taipeh

80 Mitglieder der AICA aus 26 Ländern haben am XXXVIII. Kongress der Internationalen AICA teilgenommen, der vom 30.11. bis 6.12. 2004 von der taiwanesischen Sektion in Taipeh organisiert worden ist. Die deutsche Kunstkritik war u.a. durch AICA-Generalsekretärin Marie Luise Syring (Düsseldorf) sowie durch Evelyn Weiss (Bonn) und Noemi Smolik (Bonn) vertreten.

In seinem Rechenschaftsbericht hob AICA-Präsident Henry Meyric Hughes (London) die Verpflichtung der AICA hervor, verfolgten Kollegen in aller Welt, in letzter Zeit u.a. an der Elfenbeinküste, in Hongkong und auf Haiti, beizustehen. Erleichtert zeigte sich der Präsident, dass die Diskussion um die neuen Statuten nunmehr abgeschlossen ist. Meyric Hughes ging auch auf die inzwischen 14 Bände umfassende deutsche AICA-Taschenbuchreihe „Schriften zur Kunstkritik“ ein und bedauerte, dass kein Geld da sei, „solche Publikationen auch in andere Sprachen zu übersetzen“ und zu publizieren.

Schatzmeisterin Angelica Bäumer (Wien) informierte darüber, dass sich die AICA wegen des schwachen Dollar von der US-Währung als Zahlungsmittel der Sektionen trennt und die Beiträge nur noch in Euro entgegennimmt. Einstimmig beschloss die Generalversammlung, die an Paris zu entrichtenden Beiträge von 2005 an auf jährlich 30 Euro für die reicheren Länder und auf 20 Euro für die Entwicklungsstaaten zu erhöhen. Sektionen, die zwei Jahre lang keine Gelder überwiesen haben, sollen vorläufig aus der AICA ausgeschlossen werden. Ihre Mitglieder können ihre Beiträge individuell an Paris zahlen und werden dann der „freien Sektion“ zugerechnet.

Das Thema des Kongresses „The Regionalisation of Art Criticism: Its Possibility and Global Positioning“ wurde in zwei Symposion abgehandelt. Symposion I fand vom 2. bis 4. 12. in Taipeh, Symposion II vom 7.bis 9.12. in Kaohsiung statt.

Ein Prä-Kongress am 30.11. und 1.12. bot Gelegenheit, die Ausstellung „Taiwan Avant-Garde Documenta II“, das National Palace Museum, das Yingge Ceramics Museum und das Juming Museum zu besuchen. An einem der folgenden Abende stand die Besichtigung der Taipeh Biennale im Mittelpunkt.

Zum Post-Kongress vom 6. bis 9. 12. wurde eine Reise vom Norden in den Süden Taiwans angeboten - mit Führungen durch das City Craft Museum und das Railway Warehouse in Hsinchu, die alternativen Ausstellungsräume im Stock 20 in Taichung, durch die National University of Arts und das Nan-Ying Tsung-Yeh Cultural Center in Tainan und das Museum of Fine Arts in Kaohsiung.

Der XXXIX. Kongress der AICA findet vom 19. bis 25. September 2005 in Ljubljana (Slowenien) unter dem Titel „Art Criticism and Art Theory“ statt. Die AICA-Zentrale in Paris ist inzwischen umgezogen und nun unter der Adresse: 32 rue Yves Toudic, 75010 Paris, erreichbar.

Bonn/Düsseldorf/Köln, im Januar 2005
MARIE LUISE, SYRING EVELYN WEISS


©  AICA-Sektion der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.  Impressum  /  Emails

Konzept der Website: uinic - Kunst- und Webprojekte, Binder / Haupt