Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Joint statement of the critics' associations:
Critics call for establishment of Cultural Foundation as crisis headquarters

Warning of contention over flood-region subsidies
Both German critics' associations have appealed to the Federal Government to allow the Federal Cultural Foundation to function temporarily as a "cultural crisis headquarters" for art and cultural facilities damaged by the flooding.

Today in Cologne and Berlin, the German section of the International Art Critics' Association (AICA) and the Association of German Critics e.V. published a joint statement on the dramatic situation that exists especially for Dresden's art, theater and cultural sites. It states that the 2 million € from the Federal Cultural Foundation and the further 3 million € from the current budget, which was made available upon suggestion of State Minister Julian Nida-Rümelin, can at most be understood as a "first step" towards truly effective relief. The critics' associations challenge the Federal Cultural Foundation to view itself as a motor for the organization of a comprehensive relief action and to work towards securing the involvement of the individual states' cultural foundations, entrepreneurs and -as is available- of foreign partners, as well.

In any case, in order to avoid conflicts over the funds currently coming in from the private sector, a separate donation budget for the endangered or already destroyed cultural facilities in the flood regions is preferable.

The critics' associations express their sincere respect for the coworkers of the Dresden State Art Collections and other helpers, for their exemplary rescue operation of several thousand artworks under extremely difficult conditions.

Cologne / Berlin, 20.08.2002

Walter Vitt, President of the German AICA, Cologne
Dieter Schnabel, Chairman of the Association of German Critics e.V., Berlin


©  German section of AICA.  Impressum  /  Emails

Concept of the website: uinic - art and web projects, Binder / Haupt

Internationaler Kunstkritikerverband, Sektion der BRD



Gemeinsame Erklärung der Kritikerverbände:
Kritiker fordern: Kulturstiftung als Krisenstab etablieren

Warnung vor Konkurrenzkämpfen um die Hilfsgelder
für Hochwassergebiete

Die beiden deutschen Kritikerverbände haben an die Bundesregierung appelliert, die Kulturstiftung des Bundes vorübergehend als Kulturellen Krisenstab für die hochwassergeschädigten Kunst- und Kultureinrichtungen tätig werden zu lassen.

In Köln und Berlin veröffentlichten die deutsche Sektion des Internationalen Kunst-kritikerverbandes (AICA) und der Verband der deutschen Kritiker e.V. heute eine gemeinsame Erklärung zur dramatischen Lage vor allem bei den Dresdner Kunst-, Theater und Kulturstätten. Darin heißt es, die auf Vorschlag von Staatsminister Julian Nida-Rümelin bereitgestellten 2 Millionen € von der Bundeskulturstiftung und die weiteren 3 Millionen € aus dem laufenden Haushalt könnten allenfalls als Einstieg in eine wirkungsvolle Hilfe verstanden werden. Die Kritikerverbände fordern die Kulturstiftung des Bundes auf, sich als Motor für die Organisation einer umfassenden Hilfe-Aktion zu verstehen und darauf hinzuwirken, dass sich daran auch die Kulturstiftungen der Länder, der Unternehmer und - soweit erreichbar - auch ausländische Partner beteiligen.

Für die gefährdeten oder bereits zerstörten Kultureinrichtungen in den Hochwassergebieten sei auf jeden Fall ein eigenes Spenden-Budget zu bevorzugen, damit es nicht zu Konkurrenzkämpfen um die jetzt von privater Seite fließenden Gelder komme.

Die Kritikerverbände sprechen den Mitarbeitern und Helfern der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen in Dresden ihre Hochachtung für deren bespiellose Rettungsaktion von mehreren Tausend Kunstwerken unter äußerst schwierigen Bedingen aus.

Köln / Berlin, 20.08.2002

Walter Vitt, Präsident der deutschen AICA, Köln
Dieter Schnabel, Vorsitzender des Verbandes der deutschen Kritiker e.V., Berlin


©  AICA-Sektion der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.  Impressum  /  Emails

Konzept der Website: uinic - Kunst- und Webprojekte, Binder / Haupt